Kompani K: Onkel Osvalds Orkester, Spelar Til Dans

- I Don’t Fucking Believe This, You’re Working Class (Arbeid Pågår)

Posted in 5D-II, Free Liu Xia, Free Pussy Riot by Knutsvik on June 24, 2013

Thal2

Monday, 24th June 2013. Greece.

“I don’t fucking believe this,” she says. “this is just bullshit. you’re working class! your dad drove a beer truck for forty years and all you talk about is the Eastend and black top backstreets and luxury hotels. you’ve never earned a day’s pay on a boat, and they all call you Captain? Captain?!” and I have to admit I’m overwhelmed myself, but obviously

they all remember me wearing this cheap Captain’c cap I bought for five euros across the street last year. it’s a kid’s thing, really, and I’m probably the only grown man they saw wearing one every day last summer, and here I am again wearing that same cap and they. didn’t. forget. so the front desk receptionist and the bar staff and the waiters all greet me with a great, big Greek smile and a “hi! welcome back, Captain! so glad to see you again this year,” and I smile and say “oh, I loved it last year, and I’m so glad to be back”.

the front desk even sends a bottle of local red to the room.

I drink it slowly at night. the late shift bar man plays “The Whole of The Moon” as he’s closing down. I watch him from above, and read Marit Eikemo. “Arbeid Pågår”. it’s a great book. I’ll buy and read more of her stuff when I get back home.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MT said, on June 25, 2013 at 11:24 AM

    Kos deg !
    :)

    • Knutsvik said, on June 26, 2013 at 6:05 PM

      ayayay, Marie, det kan nesten kosast litt vel mykje no og då, men det går bra. trur eg :D

      Hepp!

  2. hobokollektiv said, on July 10, 2013 at 8:32 PM

    Slowly drinking & drifting away. It’s Rod Stewarts version that clings through my mind, buddy:

    “Give me the beat boys, and free my soul / I wanna get lost in your rock and roll and drift away”

    Raise a glass for me & bacause I raise a coll blonde for you, captein!

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    • Knutsvik said, on July 12, 2013 at 12:58 PM

      ay, Fritsch, there’s this thing with sipping cheap wine at night, when the only sounds you hear are waves rolling, almost drowning out some subdued classic song from the bar, and you know there’s enough life left in the bottle to last you another hour or so, and when the bottle is finished off so is the bar man, and there’s nothing left but the waves of the ocean and the darkness of the night ….

      thanks, pal!

      Hepp!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

