Kompani K: Onkel Osvalds Orkester, Spelar Til Dans

Day One: Darkness Falls As I Write This, I Think I’ll Buy A Leica

Posted in 5D-II, Free Liu Xia, Free Pussy Riot by Knutsvik on September 3, 2012

Sunday 2nd and Monday 3rd September 2012. Schiphol Airport/Hong Kong Airport Express.

you should arrive in Hong Kong at night, when the neon illuminates the dark city streets. this time I don’t.

T lives out on an island where the taxi service sucks, and I have to wait at the airport for close to an hour. we barely reach our flight. there are no vacancies on business class from Amsterdam to HK so there’s no upgrade for us either. I pop 5 mg of zopiclon and sleep through most of the night.

we arrive at Lantau at two PM local time. T heads straight for the apartment, and I ride the airport express to Kowloon station where I get a cab to take me to the Royal Garden Hotel. it’s hot and humid even if it’s not dark yet. it smells like Hong Kong.

darkness falls as I write this.

I think I’ll buy a Leica a little later.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MT said, on September 3, 2012 at 6:05 PM

    🙂

    • Knutsvik said, on September 3, 2012 at 6:28 PM

      haha, oh ja, han er heime no, Knutsviken, og i morgon, Marie, i morgon er det jobb *ler*

      ooooog Hepp frå Hong Kong!

  2. hobokollektiv said, on September 3, 2012 at 7:17 PM

    Grab that Leica & go for the panini, captein. And make sure these neons still burning, when you return. There’s nothing better than neon lit lonesomeness at these airports while the city is laying out before you & the taxi services suck. These are the ways of the world.

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    • Knutsvik said, on September 4, 2012 at 10:14 AM

      ay, Fritsch, greetings from humid Hong Kong!

      got the Leica (it’s just a D-LUX 5, but I love it still) – now I just have to learn it properly, I guess it takes 10 000 shots or something 😀

      staying sound, pal, staying sound!

      Hepp!


Leave a Reply

