Kompani K: Onkel Osvalds Orkester, Spelar Til Dans

He Played Hearts Of Stone, That’s The Chestnut (I Was Fourteen)

Posted in D-LUX 5, Free Pussy Riot by Knutsvik on December 1, 2012

hearts1

hearts2

hearts3

hearts4

Saturday, 1st December 2012.

it’s a Springsteen chestnut, and almost like a dream, but Christmas is closing in.

F is a priest in a Hordaland country parish now, but he used to live across town and he used to live by the old Salvation Army paradigm of “Why Should The Devil Have All The Good Music”.

he played “Hearts of Stone” – that’s the chestnut – and told me that’s one of the greatest guitar solos ever (I was fourteen, and it’s Little Steven who’s playing the guitar). listen to the notes he’s not playing, he said (this was the 80ies), they’re more important than the notes he’s really playing.

it’s like a Christmas chestnut, but Southside Johnny’s singing goes beyond that. it’s “Hearts of Stone”.

it’s like a Christmas chestnut, but better.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. z ... said, on December 1, 2012 at 5:16 PM

    ***

    OMG… that is just another Artist
    I never listen to or heard about….
    The silent Notes of Heart of Stone –
    ohh i do not know yet he is so passionate
    and i love his Eyes and his Voice of …Something
    Going beyond I pray for going beyond !
    And for the Smoked Mirror
    *

    • Knutsvik said, on December 2, 2012 at 1:13 AM

      ay, Zamoysky, My Polish Princessa, Johnny’s singing on this track is spectacular, it’s masculine and straightforward and seemingly simple, yet there’s an element of passionate vulnerability to it that’s … difficult to express in words…. sadly, Johnny never got the recognition he deserves, but he’s been around since the early 70ies and is still out there playing bars. I’ve seen him perform once, and I wouldn’t miss it if I ever got the chance again 😀

      (oh – there’s certainly something in his eyes too, Mylady, there’s certainly something there ….)

      Hepp!

      • z ... said, on December 2, 2012 at 2:53 PM

        ***

        Mmmm…
        Can you hear those hidden Notes, MK ?
        I do not know if I can, I would love to believe I can
        I think I can at least I can imagine that I can

        *

        • Knutsvik said, on December 2, 2012 at 8:22 PM

          ay, Zamoysky, I know you can hear them just as I can hear them for we see the same in Johnny’s eyes as we hear in Steven’s guitar; the unspeakable presence, the unseen and unsung, the transcendence, ay, Zamoysky, I know you can hear those silent notes ….

          Hepp!

  2. hobokollektiv said, on December 1, 2012 at 5:37 PM

    “Don’tplay what’s there. Play what’s not there” (MIles Davis)

    And ever since we know that Little Steven is one of the biggest, captein! And you, buddy, are the biggest storyteller. I can tell that though I far away from fourteen.

    All the best & safe travels, Fritsch.

    • Knutsvik said, on December 2, 2012 at 1:16 AM

      ay, Fritsch, Steven’s just .. cool, and a true keeper of the flame!

      (I lurched around his home in NYC last time I was there, but he never showed up 😀 )

      thanks, pal!

      keep your gunpowder dry, buddy!

      Hepp!


Leave a Reply

